Desperate Housewives (2004-2012)

Ⓒ Cherry Alley Productions
Ⓒ Cherry Alley Productions

Creator: Marc Cherry Cast: Teri Hatcher, Felicity Huffman, Marcia Cross, Eva Longoria

In a seemingly boring suburban neighbourhood, four housewives experience daily drama- lies, betrayal, fights, and even murder.

So I’ve just finished some serious marathon-viewing of Desperate Housewives, because Amazon Prime announced they were taking it down so it was a race to watch it all in about a month. And I did it just in the nick of time (although I didn’t watch every single episode, I’ll admit). One way that I judge TV series is how I feel when it’s finished- it’s not uncommon to get attached to the characters so that when the series finally ends it’s like you’ve lost a friend (I’m talking to you, Friday Night Lights). Although I loved the characters and did care about them when I was watching it, now it’s over I don’t really feel to bummed out about it, I guess there wasn’t really that connection that great writing brings. But, I did love the series- there were of course some periods of silliness that are inevitable when a show runs for so long, but on the whole the storylines were good. I liked how there was one particular storyline for each season, while there was the over-arching plot of the lives of the main characters across all eight seasons.

The characters were perfectly cast, not only the main four but also their husbands, children, and other minor neighbours. In fact, I think the wider cast of permanent minor characters really brought the whole thing together and made it more realistic; the main group of four don’t live isolated lives just with the occasional other person popping in when it’s convenient for the storyline, but encounter permanent neighbours on a daily basis.

I think it’s obvious to say that the show is targeted at women, but I have to say the my dad caught a few episodes and did laugh on a number of occasions. It’s inoffensive, with very minimal violence, and while it’s not totally identifiable, the series offers a sense of escapism.

4 stars

Leave a Reply

